top of page

Research All-Stars Initiative:  Honoring Codman Shoulder Society Members and Esteemed Colleagues

Dear Codman Shoulder Society and CSS/Avant-garde Value-Based Care (VBHC) Shoulder Group Members:

We are thrilled to recognize the remarkable achievements of our members and other esteemed colleagues selected for the prestigious Healthcare Research All-Stars, presented by Avant-garde Health. This initiative honors the top 5% of surgeons and hospitals demonstrating exemplary research contributions and advancements in surgical care. From a comprehensive pool of over 90,000 surgeons and 4,000 hospitals, 4,500 physicians and 350 hospitals have been distinguished for their exceptional research across various specialties.

Congratulations to our CSS Members, Research Group participants and other esteemed colleagues:

  • Joe Abboud, MD - VBHC Research Group Member

  • Michael Gottschalk, MD - VBHC Research Group Member

  • Andrew Jawa, MD - CSS Member

  • Jacob Kirsch, MD - VBHC Research Group / CSS Member

  • Joaquin Sanchez-Sotelo, MD, PhD - CSS Member

  • Umasuthan Srikumaran, MD, MBA, MPH - VBHC Research Group / CSS Member

  • Joshua Dines, MD

  • Mark Frankle, MD

  • Lawrence Gulotta, MD

  • Xinning Li, MD

  • Frederick Matsen, MD

  • Augustus Mazzocca, MD

  • Amit Momaya, MD

You can explore the complete list of honorees in all specialties here.

Avant-garde Health, a leader in value-based care and perioperative analytics, specializes in tracking detailed cost and outcomes information to drive healthcare improvements. Their analysis highlights that top surgeon researchers significantly contribute to advancements in healthcare, showcasing a reduction in patient mortality and complications. This furthers our understanding of the impact of quality research on patient care.

We invite you to join us for a special JOEI webinar titled "Become an Orthopedics Research All-Star: Lessons and Insights from the Most Prolific Publishers." This session will be held on Wednesday, April 24th, 2024, from 8:00 to 9:00 PM ET. The webinar will feature discussions with orthopedic research all-stars including JP Warner, Joe Abboud, Lisa Cannada, Peter Millett, Jeff Stambough, Paul Sethi, Daniel Tobert, and Kevin Plancher. These leading orthopedic researchers will share insights into their research methodologies, publishing achievements, and strategies that have positioned them at the forefront of the orthopedic field.


To participate in this session, please register at the following link:


We look forward to your attendance.


Kind Regards,

Jon “JP” Warner, MD

Founder, CSS


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page